PhD Scholarships

It can take more than ten years to build up the expertise, track record and reputation required to undertake independent academic research.

The early years can be tough, especially if you have to juggle your research commitments with part-time work to make ends meet.

ASI PhD Scholar Natalie Holmes said she now has “more time to focus on her project” as our three-year funding top up means she no longer has the pressure of working part-time.

Natalie’s scholarship is significant for the sector as it supports research that will accelerate the development of a new, highly cost effective solar energy source.

Natalie is developing new water-based nanoparticulate materials for printable organic photovoltaics (OPV). This is an emerging technology which has the potential to provide a low-cost alternative to silicon-based solar technologies through a mass printing process.

There has been a lot of interest in Natalie’s research to date and her poster was accepted for presentation at the Australasian Polymer Symposium in Hobart.

This is significant for her project, her career and the Centre for Organic Electronics (COE) at the University of Newcastle where she is studying.

The COE has an extensive track record in world class OPV research and has the infrastructure required to deliver Natalie’s project outcomes, including new printing facilities within the recently announced $43 million Newcastle Institute for Energy and Resources.

Our scholarship is an investment in a trained graduate who will have critical skills and expertise in OPV material synthesis, device design and printing fabrication ready to support a growing manufacturing industry.

Read more stories and testimonials by Tranche 1 ASI PhD Scholars:

Jonathon Dore- The University of NSW
Thomas Ratcliff- Australian National University
Nicholas Boerema- The University of NSW

Tranche 2 ASI PhD Scholars:

Yu-Heng Jaret Lee (Jaret)- Australian National University
Alex Pascoe- Monash University
Bjorn Sturmberg- The University of Sydney
Ahmad Mojiri- RMIT University
Jae Sung Yun- The University of NSW
Shane Sheoran- University of South Australia
Simon Heslop- The University of NSW
Tobias Prosin- Murdoch University
James Bullock- Australian National University
Dylan Cuskelly- The University of Newcastle
Joseph Giorgio- University of Wollongong 

Tranche 3 ASI PhD Scholars:

Mitchell Wilson, University of Newcastle
Ben Ekman, Swinburne University of Technology

Tranche 4 ASI PhD Scholars:
Claire Disney – University of NSW

Tranche 5 ASI PhD Scholars:
Jianshu Han – University of NSW